Elections to the Deanery Synod and the PCC

These will take place at the Annual Parochial Church Meeting, whose date we need to revisit (previous decision: Thursday 20 April; possible change: Sunday 23 April).

1 *Revision of electoral roll.* This year's process is a revision enabling updating of information and addition of new members on the basis of the existing roll. It is not the preparation of a brand-new electoral roll, which is set for 2025.

The 14-day period for the revision process has been set by Sarah Ware, our electoral roll officer, as 12-26 March. On that basis we shall know in advance of the APCM the total number of those on the roll. In 2022 the number was 106.

2 The number of representatives of the laity on the PCC. The official regulation which covers representatives additional to *ex officio* members, e.g. the church wardens and the three representatives of St Peter's on the Tiverton and Cullompton Deanery Synod, allows: (a) if there are more than 50 but no more than 100, six; (b) if there are more than 100, a further three.

So, in the unlikely event of the total number of members on the electoral roll dropping below 100, we could elect a maximum of 6 PCC members in addition to the 3 Deanery Synod reps. If, more probably, the total number of members on the electoral roll were to remain above 100, we could elect a maximum of 9 PCC members in addition to the 3 Deanery Synod reps. In what follows, the figure 9 is taken as the base number.

3 The *electoral process* begins with the Deanery Synod representatives, currently:

Joanna Hall-Tomkir	n PCC 2020-2 ⁻	1 DS 2021-23
Kate Henshall	PCC 2019-20	DS 2020-23
Mary Seaton	PCC 2008-11	DS 2011-23

If any of the three wishes to continue as a DS member they must stand for re-election. If successful, they will be *ex officio* PCC members and will not figure in the list of 9. If unsuccessful, but wishing to remain as PCC members, they must stand for inclusion in the list of 9. The last-mentioned strategy applies if any of the three wishes to retire from DS membership (thus, Mary Seaton).

4 *Detailed information*: The lay representative whose 2nd three-year period of membership expires in 2023 is Jenny Palmer. The good news is that she will be able to stand for re-election if she wishes in 2024.

Those 5 people whose membership continues beyond 2023, and who do not need to stand for renewed membership this year, are the following (which would have been 6 had Jean Jenner not decided to retire). If they continue in PCC membership they will in effect occupy some of the 9 (6) available places.

David Catchpole	2 nd term 2021-24	
Emma Coppledick		1 st term 2021-24
Nickie Johnson	1 st term 2022-25	
Averil Long	2 nd term 2021-24	
Sally Mundy	1 st term 2021-24	

Those presently serving on the PCC who have reached the end of their first term and who can therefore, if they wish, stand for a further term, thus occupying some of the 9 (6) available places, are:

John Brewster	co-opted 2022-23
David Ricks	1 st term 2020-23
Richard Stenlake	1 st term 2020-23

The number of persons to be elected to the PCC at the APCM will therefore be determined by the outcome of the DS election and the decision of the 5 whose membership can in principle continue until expiring in 2024/25.

David Catchpole 08jan23